Welcome to the Children of Khaos Series!

In the beginning there was nothing more than Khaos, the primordial nothingness from which all the immortals sprang. Neither male nor female, Khaos gave birth to many sons and daughters, the Earth, the Sky, the Underworld and all the daemons and gods who walked the land.

Of all the generations Khaos birthed, the Titans and the Olympians were the only ones whose desire for power and freedom drove them to war. Uranus was the first, a dictator who forced his son Coronus, King of the Titans, to steal his father’s place in a bid to save his mother. But absolute power corrupted Coronus, and yet it wasn’t until an Oracle predicted Coronus’ downfall at the hands of one of his sons that Coronus turned on his family.

Imprisoning his sons and daughters, as well as any who threatened his throne, Coronus ruled the world with an iron fist. Until his wife, Rhea, seeing a way to free herself and her children, tricked her husband and hid some of her offspring throughout the world. Their son Zeus, was the first who set out to overthrow his father, but Zeus had no real desire to see the mortals, gods, monsters, and demons lived side by side live in harmony, or at least try to…

These are their Stories…

A fantasy romance series set in a world where gods rule, demons are feared, and humans seek only to survive, the Children of Khaos Series includes a loose collection of several standalone and interconnected stories based on the Greek, Roman, and Etruscan mythologies that follows the lives of the gods, the demons, and the hapless humans that get in their way.

AnAngelinTartarusbyStephannieBeman My Lord Hades LoveisBlindbyStephannieBeman LovingtheGoddessofLovebyStephannieBeman Death'sLoverbyStephannie Beman

Children of Khaos FAQs

Please be aware, some of the answers below may contain spoilers to the books and series.

Q: Will there be more Children of Khaos books?

Yes. I’m not sure when I’ll start writing them again. They’re still in the planning stages.

Q: Does the Children of Khaos have a reading order?

The story timelines in the Children of Khaos Series overlap on many occasions, and while the events don’t build on one another, they may share some of the same events from a different point of view. In other words, they can be read in any order. However, the best reading order is:

An Angel in Tartarus (short story)
My Lord Hades (novel)
Love is Blind (short story)
Loving the Goddess of Love (novel)
Death’s Lover (novel)

Q: Why did you change some of the mythology the Children of Khaos Series is based on?

Well, the simple answer is every god and goddess is related and I have no desire to write an incestuous romance. Enough said.

Q: Why did you make Love is Blind & An Angel in Tartarus short stories rather than novels?

There are two reasons for that. First, Love is Blind is a deleted scene that I rewrote from the viewpoint of the nymph Tarma rather than Hades for an anthology that never happened, although I have been debating making it into a novel. Second, An Angel in Tartarus started out as a very long Prologue that gave away a lot of information and added little to the story as a whole, expect to explain some things. I decided both would work as samples of my work and at the time there was nothing more to the stories.

Q: What is a Phlegethon demon? Where does the name come from?

Phlegethon demons are the children of gods and demons that are ruled by their passions. They feel more and they feel more passionately. They can also consume non-Phlegethon with the power of their passions. Hence the unfortunate incident with Menthe and why Hades feared hurting Persephone in the story. It’s also why Hades was looking for his equal in power or another Phlegethon. Phlegethon is a river in the Underworld meaning “fiery.” I took the name and added daemon to the end and made my own demon.

Q: Why isn’t Hades upset at Persephone for being in her prison for all this time?

I made a brief mention of this, but more from Persephone’s point-of-view. The reason Hades wasn’t pissed at her for keeping him in his prison is because even though she was Queen of the Underworld, her control stopped at the mortal shades. She has no control over the gods’ or daemons that are imprisoned in Tartarus by Coronus. Maybe I should have made this more clear in the novel.

Q: What of Hades’ mythological lovers? And why did you change it?

Besides his many fans, later Greek mythology gives Hades two lovers: Menthe and Leuce.

Menthe was the lover of Hades before he took Persephone as his wife. It is said in one myth that Persephone turned her into a mint plant out of jealousy. In another myth, Menthe protested loudly about being put aside for Persephone. She claimed that she was more beautiful and that Hades would return to her and banish Persephone from his halls. Out of anger Demeter turned her into a mint plant. Either way, I write romance without cheating spouses and so I changed her mythology in the Children of Khaos Universe to be a woman who Hades once loved and lost because he almost killed her with a passionate kiss. This worked better with the story.

As for Leuce, she was a mythical nymph who Hades loved. When Leuce died, he changed her into a white poplar. I decided to make Luece his half-sister by Horkus. Then I tried to explain the whole divergence from mythology by having the Olympians confusing the stories of Leuce and Menthe. Since it all happened hundreds of years before they were born and they weren’t really concerned with accuracy, but wanting a really good reason to hate him, the mythology of Leuce and Menthe worked.

Q: Aphrodite cheated on her husband and slept around in the myths, how can you make her the heroine of a book when you don’t like cheating heroes/heroines?

In the book and in the myths Aphrodite has other partners whom she’s not committed to and they are aware that she takes others to her bed, I didn’t change this because it was a big part of her later mythology. Once she is given to Hephaestus as his bride in the book, Aphrodite doesn’t seeking out other lovers and she doesn’t cheat on Hephaestus, although she does go out of her way to flirt with other men to catch Hephaestus’ attention.

Her cheating was one of the things I had a hard time with in the mythologies and I prefer the older mythologies that painted Aphrodite as a kind goddess of erotic and sexual love who had many lovers but settled with the smith who made her beautiful things whenever she desired. However, Aphrodite never married until the Greeks gave her to Hephaestus later. I wanted Aphrodite to care about Hephaestus so I changed the story.

Q: Why didn’t Aphrodite end up with Ares in Loving the Goddess of Love?

Because I have other plans for Ares. 😀

I still have a question for you

Now if you’ve still got questions that weren’t answered on this page or you’d like a more in-depth answer to, use the contact form at the bottom of this page, or send me an email.